What is Chakra?

What is Chakra?

The idea of the Chakra system is an age-old concept in the Eastern philosophies, and this very term is derived from the Sanskrit word for circle or wheel. Therefore, people wondering about what is chakra, or its significance in ensuring the wellbeing of an individual first need to become aware of the important role it plays in determining the behavioral traits and other aspects in a person’s life. Once the underlying principle behind the Chakra system becomes clear, it would be much easier for everyone to appreciate the role it plays in everyday life.

As per the Sanatana or Hindi yogic/tantric traditions, every individual consists of a physical body and a subtle body, with the Chakra system being intimately associated with the latter one. Therefore, the answer to the query regarding what is a chakra lies in the function it serves for the subtle body of any individual, and this involves serving as the nodal points for the flow of vital energy, or Prana in Sanskrit, between the cosmos and the subtle body of a person. As per the traditional belief, the subtle body contains channels or Nadi for the flow of vital energy, and these chakras serve as the meeting point of the various channels in the subtle body. Thus, the chakras are essential for the flow of the vital energy through the subtle body, as well as, between the body and the wider cosmos.

The Chakra system plays a vital role in governing the various critical organ systems of the body, as well as, exerting profound influence upon the character traits of every individual. As per the traditional belief system, the subtle body of any individual is home to a large number of chakras, but only a select few among those play a major role in the functioning of the subtle and physical bodies of a person. The most important of all the chakras present in the subtle body of any individuals are the seven major chakras, which are extremely important because of the close association they share with various critical organs. These seven major chakras together constitute what people commonly term as the chakra system within the body. Understanding the unique functioning of a major chakra is essential for gaining any credible answer to the query regarding what is chakra and its real significance.


What is a Chakra Imbalance / Blockage?

Chakra Blockages

Since the chakras play the role of nodes of focal points for the flow of vital energy or the life force through the subtle body of any individual, it becomes essential that they remain free of the all the clogs and clutters to ensure their proper functioning. A number of reasons can lead to the clogging of these vital nodal points in the subtle body, and gaining a clear understanding of its functioning is essential to take remedial steps to clear out all such hindrances from blocking the flow of vital energy. Since the flow of the energy between the body and the cosmos is a two way process, keeping chakras free from clutters become that much more important. Moreover, the Chakra system serves as the conduit of the flow of divine energy from the heaven, through the subtle body, and down into the earth, and in the opposite direction at the same time. Therefore, proper functioning of the Chakra system is of utmost important from the spiritual point of view as well. This makes gaining a clear understanding of what is chakra system even more crucial for all.

The major chakras are present near critical organs in the body, and their malfunction might be the reason behind various acute and chronic ailments present in individuals. Moreover, imbalances in the functioning of the chakra system can manifest in the form of undesirable character traits in individuals, which will serve them in poor light in both personal and professional spheres of life. Therefore, learning about what is a chakra, and ways to take care of any imbalances is of utmost importance in preventing the damage caused by such disruptions.

The imbalances in the working of the chakra system can be because of either obstructed or overactive individual or multiple major chakras, and both of these situations are far from ideal for the individuals concerned. This is because the proper functioning of the concerned chakras cannot take place under such circumstances, and it becomes essential for the concerned individuals to take all measures necessary to seek remedy for such a circumstance. Gaining a deep insight about what is chakra system and its workings can help in finding the remedy with that much more ease. Among the most common of the suspects for clogged chakras is the feeling of negativity, which often serves up as the impurity that blocks the flow of vital energy through these portals. Therefore, removal of negative energy from the vicinity goes a long way in ensuring that the individual chakras perform as per their optimal standards.



What Are The Seven Major Chakras?

The seven major chakras that constitute the chakra system in the subtle body are unique because of the influence they exert upon the mind, body, and characteristics of any individual. A brief summary of these seven major chakras are as follows:

    Seven Major Chakras
  • The Root Chakra is the first of the major chakras, and it shares intimate connection with the Earth, as well as, the feeling of security, rootedness, and a place of belonging anywhere and achieving something in life.

  • The second chakra is the Sacral Chakra, which is located in the groin region, and is intimately related with the aspects of sexuality, relationship of the both romantic and non-romantic types, and creativity.

  • The Solar Plexus Chakra is the third chakra, and it serves as the center of will power, which is essential for creating anything people envision in their lives.

  • The fourth major chakra is the Heart Chakra, which is associated with the proper functioning of the heart organ, as well as, as the development of a feeling of love, empathy, and compassion for others.

  • The fifth chakra in the chakra system is the Throat Chakra, which serves as the center of communication and voice for any individual, with the communication being about the ability to voice one’s opinion and communicate with others.

  • The Third Eye Chakra is the sixth of the major chakras, and it primary function is related to sight, but not only of the literal type, but also of the type related to the development of psychic abilities.

The seventh and final chakra of the chakra system is the Crown Chakra, and it is located at the top of the head, being associated with the aspects of higher consciousness and connection to divinity.




Related Videos

Beginners Guide to Chakras

Opening Your 7 Chakras

Other Sites of Interest: Numerology Chart

Sharing is Caring!